The Official Site for the Feature Film

On Location: Day One

At 5:46 PM  on a sweltering Tennessee evening, cameras began rolling on THE NOTHING. It took over two years to get to this point. The opening shot was inside of a sweaty storage cubby, that only the actors, Director, DP and AD could even get inside of.

It was a moment that almost felt a bit anticlimactic after so much build up, but then it hit me. We are making a movie. For real this time. Cameras, lights, costumes; and crew people asking me to get out the way.  There are all sorts of really expensive technically digital doodads that I both fear and don’t understand. It’s great.

We’re shooting fully digitally on Canon 7Ds. I know a lot of people are purists for shooting on film, but I’m 100% on board with the digital revolution. I’m for anything that makes it easier for indie filmmakers (like us) to make professional quality films. The Nothing is fully and proudly a part of a digital revolution in independent film.

Jeremy Childs as "Bud"

2 years ago, the first time we attempted to make this movie fully independently, the film we are making now would have been impossible, that’s how fast technology is moving.

We’re moving fast too. Our AD, Drew Langer, told me that, on average, a Hollywood film shoots 3 pages a day. We did that in our first four hours.

I had literal chills up my spine upon seeing our first footage. I can’t wait until the world gets to see this film.

But in the meantime, enjoy these production stills, and our first production video diary.

Leave a Reply

